top of page

3 Packing Tips for Your TAVR Hospital Stay

If you’re reading this, chances are you or someone you love is considering transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR) or is already scheduled for the procedure. When I first learned I needed heart valve replacement, I felt unprepared. I was scared, especially of all the unknown. The diagnosis of severe aortic stenosis was completely new to me: my doctor told me the flow of oxygenated blood from my heart to the rest of my body was restricted because my aortic valve wasn’t opening normally. The condition is life-threatening, and the treatment is to replace the heart valve.

I’ve learned so much since then, and now as a patient advocate, I love making life a little easier for others who are just starting out on the patient journey. A question that comes up often: What do I pack for the hospital? Patients who recently had the TAVR procedure are a great source for the inside scoop on how to pack for your short hospital stay.

So, let’s take one thing off your to-do list: Deciding what to pack for the hospital. Print off this article, add any items you wish, and put a copy in your suitcase for safe keeping.

To read the full article on www.Healthgrades.com, please click here.

Susan Strong waves "good bye" the day after her TAVR procedure.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page